sugar maples and willowy spirea frame the entrance to Tim Abler’s
classically symmetrical, Gothic Revival home.
Built in 1856 for Loring G. Johnson, whose occupation was listed as
“Dauguerean” —a form of map-maker, the simple T-shaped structure has
had two extensive renovations. Amos Wilson who lived there from 1862
until 1909, added the west portion of the house, and a sweeping Queen
Anne style porch in the 1880s. A century later, Bruce and Pat Herman
lovingly restored the home to its present state.
In the 1990s, the Tuski family continued the restoration process by
rehanging original shutters, stripping and painting, and adding copper
Interior features of the home include restored oak, pine, curly and
birdseye maple floors, signed stained glass windows, a charming copper
kitchen sink, cast iron pump, and old-fashioned gas stove.
The home is furnished with 18th and 19th century antiques, oriental
rugs, original oil paintings, watercolors, and vintage prints by George
Stubbs. Mr Abler adds to the collection with purchases facilitated by
Schmidt’s Antiques of Ypsilanti, Keystone of Marshall, and with items
acquired during his many trips abroad.
Anticipated autumn projects for the Abler home include a new ceiling
mural by local artist Maureen Reed, commissioned works by Patrice
Marquardt and Tim Banfield.